Midwest Tour Part 3: Skatopia

One of the stops we made while in Ohio was at the legendary Skatopia. I’ve known about this place for years, heard many things and had always been interested to check it out for myself. Finally, I got the chance.

One of the first things you see when you drive up to the main house is the old Skatopia Limo. This thing has made all kinds of gnarly road trips and is currently not in working condition. From what I hear, it should be back on the road soon.

Skatopia owner and founder, Brewce Martin, gave us the royal tour of his skateboard museum. Needless to say, it is one of the most impressive and comprehensive collections of skateboards I have ever seen. With over 2,000+ skateboards, this wall represents only a fraction of what he has collected over the years.

Pabst, being a sponsor of Skatopia, was pretty stoked to see that Brewce had some of the original Pabst Blue Ribbon skateboards.

There were tons of retro skateboards in the museum but for some reason I was particularly interested in this one. They don’t make skateboard graphics like they used to (and on top of the boards, none the less).

I posted this one to Instagram but figured I put it up on my blog for those that aren’t down with the ‘Gram.

Hook-Ups boards. Sexy.

This newspaper article I thought was pretty cool. The image is of a group of newspaper delivery boys who sold enough subscriptions to win a skateboard. The kid with the blond hair and white-collared shirt is Brewce Martin on his first skateboard ever.

Once you start driving up the hill from the museum the first skate feature you see is the giant full pipe. It’s big, smooth and scary.

Just further up the hill is the infamous Lulu bowl. This thing has been poured in several sections but has surprisingly good flow. Couldn’t skate the cradle due to water but there was plenty of other parts to keep us busy.

Another view of the Lulu bowl.

Here’s one section that is starting to fall down the hill side. Apparently the foundation wasn’t rebarred into the rest of the park so once the ground shifted it went along for the ride. Definitely a bummer since this is the only part with brick coping.

The bowl that never was and (mostly likely) never will be.

Pool coping waiting to get scratched.

Mark “Red” Scott took a crew of guys from Portland over to Skatopia to help pour some concrete. Their RV broke down just before making it to their destination. Here is it’s final resting place.

There are several cabins that were offered up for us to stay in. We opted out and slept in the RV. Very generous of them though.

Luscious interior of cabin.

Here is another view of the full-pipe connected to the barn. Inside the barn (which dates back to the 1930’s) is one of the most intimidating bowls I’ve ever seen. At 13.5 feet deep, I decided not to drop in after deliberating for 15 minutes. Next trip I make to Skatopia will be different.

This igloo is slowly being constructed out of J√§germeister bottles (another sponsor of Skatopia). It’ll be neat to see the finished structure.

I took this photo because it shows the only board that I have which is featured in the museum. The “Shark” board from Nash (still one of the best gifts I’ve ever received).

I’m not quite sure if the Skatopia crew will see this post but I want to extend a huge thanks to those guys for their hospitality and incredible skateboard terrain. This visit was definitely a highlight for me being on the tour. Can’t wait until my next visit to Ohio so I can stop back by and say hello.

More Midwest Tour in Part 4….

Leave a Reply

